15-20 delay to start a 192K WAV track sometimes - is that normal?[Solved - Hardware below spec]

Hi All,

I’m new to Roon and to this community so let me know if this isn’t the category for this question.

I am running Roon on a Windows 7 laptop outputting to a Wyred4Sound DAC2. The sound is glorious! A bit nicer than JRiver, although JRiver did a nice job.

But with Roon, anytime I skip to new song I experience a 15-20 delay before the song starts. This doesn’t happen when I play an album through, and it occasionally happens between songs on a playlist.

All my music are 192K24b WAV files I’ve upsampled using a program I wrote some years ago. Everything plays, eventually, but the excessive delay is a nuisance.

Any ideas to help me?

Thanks.

Richard

Hi Richard,

Sounds like hardware performance.

What is the specification of the laptop (CPU, GPU, RAM, HDD or SSD)?
Also how full is the drive?
Where are your music files stored (laptop drive, NAS, …)?

These are very large files. Are these files being streamed on your network?
MD

You blew up the files and now you are wondering why you have problems streaming gigantic files full of hot air :roll_eyes:

Assuming that as this is a laptop and your files are large that these are streaming from a NAS or network drive and likely the laptop is connected via wifi?

Wifi is a less than ideal nor adequate means for streaming hi bitrate content.

This would setup could potentially take some time to buffer enough data to start playing.

Thanks for your responses.

Sorry for not supplying more information. The music files are on USB external drives direct attached to the laptop. I’ve played JRiver for these files with this setup for years with never any delay problems, so I’m sure the issue is not hardware, CPU, or drive performance.

Also, once the music starts, there is no problem in the sound until the next song is played from a different album folder.