3 Macs for Roon

Hello:

I am new to Roon, but I love it already! I would like to optimize my system per Roon’s instructions, and so I wish to benefit from the wisdom here before I buy new stuff.

Currently, I have a dCS Vivaldi DAC, connected to a RoonServer running core and output on a Mac Power Book Pro 2016 (16 GB RAM, 2 TBB SSD, fastest CPU option, ethernet) with an external 4TB USB-C hard disk). The laptop is connected to the DAC via USB, which requires a USB-B to USB-C adapter. I use an iPad or another laptop as a Roon control, over wi-fi.

I wish to follow Roon instructions for the best audio setup, with Apple computers only for now, which I understand means using a different machine for the Roon core, output, and control each. So I think I need to add a separate Roon output machine on ethernet, which will in turn connect via USB to the DAC. Do you think a Mac mini 2014 with max RAM, speed, and a 256 GB SSD, with a straight old fashioned USB port (avoiding the need for a USB-B to USB-C adapter) is a good choice for that? Are there better choices?

On a separate note, to confirm, there is no USB Volume Control from Roon when using the bit perfect path for the Vivaldi DAC (with the Fixed Volume option selected in Roon), right? In other words, I need to control the DAC volume via an IR remote?

I understand that the new dCS Network Bridge may be an appealing solution for me, but for reasons I am not explaining, I 'd like to try the Mac only solution first. Would the Network Bridge result in an even better audio than running core, output, and control on three separate Macs (despite the additional signal and clock cables needed for that installation)?

just my 2c (and what I have tried), from good to best:

• dedicated Mac mini running Roon Core
  • USB out (possibly with a USB Regen in between) to DAC
    (possibly do not use an external USB HD)
  • USB out to a good S/PDIF converter then to DAC
    (possibly do not use an external USB HD)