A NOOBIE's Perspective on ROON and things that need improvement

So I am new to ROON - had it for 3 days now. And overall I love it. It is fantastic and way ahead of most of the other streaming apps out there. So here are the things I love and hate about ROON.

LOVE:

1. The interface and layout and the WIKIPEDIA style catalogue.
  2. Love the AI and the personalization features.
  3. Sound Quality is excellent overall for streaming from hard disk.
  4. Very easy to use and setup.
  5. Has a fabulous full featured iOS app that mirrors the desktop app.

SUGGESTED AREAS FOR IMPROVEMENT:

1. DSP is single threaded and causes stuttering, especially when you use upsampling and or upsampling in conjunction with other DSP functions. The whole DSP engine needs to be multi-threaded so that it can take advantage of multiple CPU cores. Currently it is single threaded which means it can only use ONE core at a time.
  2. For Mac OS, ROON needs to be optimized like Audirvana is - it should be ported to Apple Silicon so it runs natively on my M1 Mac mini, and it should disable OS functions that are not mission critical like Audirvana does so that it doesn’t utilize more processing power then need be.
  3. Apple Music integration - I would really like to see Apple Music integration so that the catalog appears in ROON and I can control Apple Music by ROON. Even if Apple gives you the middle finger and doesn’t allow it, you should figure out a way to work around that and even if it requires scripting to remote control the Music App via ROON, do that!

Conclusion: Overall I love ROON and will definitely become a permanent subscriber. However there are many areas as stated above that need improvement.

5 Likes

I would work on solving Issue 3 thru support. Not really an area for improvement as many successfully use the Sonore. Yes, DSP engine needs a face lift. HQPlayer is a significant improvement should you want to try another DSP solution.