A way to decode lossy files to >16 bits per sample [Delivered in build 333]

Is there any way to tweak how Roon decodes lossy file formats? It recently struck me that what it currently does (decode to 16 bits per sample) likely involves quantisation and dithering steps that could be avoided if Roon could output at 24+ bits per sample. Since switching to Roon, I’ve had this nagging feeling that the lossy files in my music collection have all sounded slightly worse than they should…

I’m no expert, but I don’t think it would help in this scenario - information is already lost when creating the ‘lossy’ files, and it cannot be recovered, so I don’t see how upsampling to 24bit for playback is of any benefit.

Happy to be corrected!

Good luck

There isn’t a way today, but it’s an interesting idea.

There is some complexity for us because we don’t ship MP3/AAC codecs (because of patent licensing complexities)–so we are to some extent stuck with what the OS provides for us. I’m not sure offhand whether each of those codecs has this capability or not.

For AAC, I believe I’ve seen decoder implementations that can decode to a higher bit depth. I’ve not come across that for MP3 but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist.

Do you know of another player that is doing this? Meaning–actually producing 24bits that isn’t just zero-padded 16bit output from lossy files? I’d like to poke around.