Advantage of receiver with Roon

I am brand new to Roon. Love it.

What is the advantage of buying a receiver with Roon built in? Is it the DAC’s built into the unit?

Should i buy a higher end receiver with high end DACS (like the Audio Control XR-8 or a lesser receiver with an outboard DAC?

I plan to use pre-out from the receiver to McCormack amp(s) for music.

Thanks for your advice.

You will get multiple responses, each with a different opinion. In my mind, I would rather not use a receiver for music. I would get separate units for Roon core, DAC, pre-amp, amp, and speakers.

There are not many receivers that are Roon Ready, you sure your not mistaking Roon Tested with Roon Ready, they are not the same as they tend to use Airplay not Roons own system. Marantz and Denon are pimping this at the moment and it’s causing no end of confusion with customers as they are not fully Roon Ready and limited to connection via Airplay.

I would also not recommend a receiver for main audio. I used to use my Arcam but it’s not as good as a dedicated hifi amp.

Why? Maybe the OP wants a high end installer grade roon ready multi-channel setup with built-in dirac room correction, etc. It’s his/her money.

I gave my opinion. Feel free to give your’s.

I did. You don’t say why.

I plan to use pre-out to go to main channels which are powered by an upgraded McCormack amp.

1 Like

The challenge is i only have one room for this purpose and need it to work for movies, tv, etc. Do you have a DAC that you reccomend?

No, sorry I don’t. My opinion stated above is not where I am yet. I am using a Nucleus with ethernet as well as HDMI out to an Oppo 203 DVD. From the Oppo, I go HDMI through my LG OLED to a Bose 5.1 system.

My desire is to get an amp and speakers for stereo music. If I get this, I will be using the Oppo DAC. Right now, I’m using whatever DAC is in the Bose system.

I do have a couple DAC’s for headphone listening, but that’s not what you’re looking for.