Advice on proposed Roon MQA setup

Hi all,

I am a newbie to Roon (actually even not a subscriber) . I want to seek advice on my following proposed setup before I can join Roon:

1. already holding my music files in a Synology NAS

2. needed to buy an intel NUC to run Rock for Roon core

3. already have an iPad as a Roon remote

4. needed to buy a network streamer which is Roon ready

5. needed to buy a DAC which is Roon ready and can fully decode MQA files and using Tidal (Master)

6. using ASUS RT-AC68U

Thank you.

My setup is very similar. My files are on a Synology NAS. I bought a NUC to handle the Roon Core. Also have an iPad that I sometimes use as Roon remote. I took care of your #4 and #5 with a Bluesound Node 2i, although I’m sure there are other streamers that work just as well. I also have the AC68U. The components you reference work great together. Good luck!

1 Like

Thanks for your reply.
For the Bluesound Node 2i, does it handle DSD and MQA files?

No DSD in the Bluesounds, but Roon will transcode on the fly without issues.

3 Likes

Yes, it does. Best to let Roon do first unfold and then set the Bluesound Node 2i to render for the final unfold.

1 Like

My home network files are also on a Synology NAS, and I purchased a NUC8i5BEH onto which I installed Roon Rock. I would definitely recommend the NUC8i5BEH with an M.2 SSD system drive - it might be a little higher in spec than is really needed, but it is actually not very expensive and runs pretty cool with very little fan noise.

I think it might be useful if you could describe your current hi-fi system and your current streamer or DAC if you have one. We would then be able to give you more relevant advice about your possible options.