After 2 months, leaving roon

When I purchased sotm sms-200 streamer, I received a 2-month trial subscription to roon. Overall, I am impressed with stability, flexibility and depth of content in roon. Being a programmer, I appreciate the difficulties in not only meeting system requirements but pleasing various users’ wishes and preferences. Furthermore, I am a big fan of open source, open architecture, and open specifications. With that allow me to enumerate the reasons why I have, for now, decided not to continue with subscription.

1. Value-add content like album/artist info and session credits are great and fun to read. But of course, my goal is to discover and listen to music, old and new. So, are value-adds worth the cost?

2. Android app after a long suspension would spin forever in listing a playlist or album. Upon restart, the list appears without any problems. Not quite repeatable but happens just enough to be annoying.

3. Roon Core has crashed couple of times. I reported the stack trace on the support page but heard no feedback. A paid subscription service should have an official bug reporting/resolution system.

4. Tidal integration needs improvement. Most missed for me are the My-Daily-Discovery and My-New-Arrivals. I’d love it if roon endpoints could serve as Tidal Connect devices. I prefer Tidal app when playing Tidal.

5. I like to see album covers, as large as possible. So, I really tinkered with the web controller extension created by a fellow forum user. Roon needs to officially adopt and support such product.

6. If I’m listening to a radio station and then, wish to jump back to music in the queue, it does not work intuitively. As I recall, I have to stop the radio and then, start the queue, i.e., I can’t just hit the Next button.