Airport Express silent - newbie needs help

I am new to Roon still on my trial period but l love it. My ripped CD-collection has come to life after many years of only Spotify listening. I’m running the core on a QNAP TVS-471 NAS and have 8 airplay endpoints, where 6 are airport expresses and 2 are Marantz receivers. The AE:s are all on wired ethernet and are not acting as routers or wifi access point. They are purely audio-players and the network is handled by Ubuquiti Controller, Switches and access points.

The only problem I have encountered is that sometimes some of the AE:s stay silent. I’ve seen that others have had similar problems on Airplay 2 endpoints but understand that it should be corrected in thet latest Roon release. I can’t get any real pattern in when it works and not. I can play a gorup of twe AE:s and one of them gets sound but not the other. Signal path looks identical. I can play to all devices directly from an iPhone/iPad/Computer. It seems that sometimes playing to a endpoint form another device and then closing that connection wakes the AE up to be available for Roon. But it don’t seem to be that other devices lock the AE:s because I sometimes get the problem first thing in the morning when nothing has played for many hours. I use Airfoil from a mac but it si configured to release endpoints after a while of inactivity.

I will do some more systematic testing but would appreciate any input on possible causes or ways of testing this. I realize that I could switch the AE:s for PI:s or some other better media players and will probably do that for quality reasons on my main listening rooms, but I would prefer not having to switch in all the casual listening rooms in the house. Also I will continue to use Spotify and as long as there is no integration with Roon it will be important that Spotify + Airfoil still is usable in all rooms.

All help and suggestions greatly appreciated, thanks

Hi @Peter_Baeza,