Allo + Playback USB-XIII + MPD5 - White Noise on DSD

Hello,

I have the Allo USBridge connected to a Playback Designs USB-XIII which is connected to a Playback Designs MPD-5 DAC.

With Native DSD selected I get white noise / static when playing DSD Files. It works fine with DOP.

Is there a workaround to this?

Thanks.

Very nice DAC. I’m a huge fan of the PD gear.

Should be able to play Native DSD:

https://github.com/lintweaker/xmos-native-dsd/blob/master/SRPMS/patches/kernel/0001-usb-Update-native-DSD-support-for-Playback-Design-kernel448-v2.patch

I think Allo MAY be able to try to see if Native DSD can be patched but you would need to ssh into the USBridge.

I’ll tag them here because I’m not an expert on the procedure @rahulkc_s

And are you able to change DoP to Native DSD in your Zone’s device settings?

Under ‘DSD playback strategy’?

Hi,
Thanks for the link.
How do I implement this patch? I have very little knowledge of Linux but do know how to SSH.
Is there a guide I can follow?

I am able to select Native in Roon but this gives static and noise. DOP works fine.

Thanks.

If dop works why do you want native dsd?

From what I understand ‘native’ sounds better than ‘DOP’?
Or am I wrong?

Hi it would be for Allo to patch, not you. I already tagged Rahul from Allo, so just need to wait.

But since you can already select Native DSD, I’m thinking it’s already patched into the kernel, so I’m not sure.

Hopefully some others can jump in to help.

The sound completely the same. Dop does not mean converting to pcm it piggy backs dsd over pcm packets which are then unpacked on the DAC side. So it is just the means of transport the data is the same.

They should sound the same. But the reality is that how they should or shouldn’t sound is not the point. We think it should be working DSD direct and it isn’t so it is not unreasonable to explore why, no matter how they might sound!