Android: Staggeringly playback when Roon out of GUI focus

Reported also approx a year ago, repeat:

On a LG V10, i.e. a pretty modern mobile device:

When roon is out of GUI focus, for example because of reading a newspaper or whatever other activity, roon playback becomes staggering (chopped up), indicating insufficient priority put on the playback process. As an Android developer, I have experienced this when non-GUI activites are nevertheless run on the main thread (the GUI thread), indeed a no.no

It appears as if Roon is doing so much on the GUI thread that when down prioritized by another app, this is the severe result. For the user, the result is the inconvenience that nothing else requiring GUI focus could be running while playing with Roon. Cumbersome!

Not ruling out other explanations, could you please, please fix this bug. Put any cpu consuming activity out on a separate thread. This should solve the problem.

Thanks!

@eric, I am expecting a response to this bug report. Thankyou.

Hey @Carl_Henrik_Janson – we are planning some work on our Android audio stack to implement Android 5.0 Audio, which allow us to better support USB DACs.

This work will likely to require a rewrite of much of our audio code on Android, so for the moment audio bugs on that platform will probably be lower priority, since all that code is slated to be replaced. That’s why you haven’t received a response here.

I’ll definitely make a note of this in the ticket where we’re tracking the upcoming work. I don’t have a firm time frame for when it’s going to happen, but in any event we appreciate the feedback here. Thanks!

This is an incorrect analysis. All the Android audio works not only happens in a different thread, it happens in a different process. This is not the case on iOS because iOS apps can not be multi-process, but on Android, we run the audio processing in an Android Service as opposed to Activity.

@danny, ok. Waiting for fix.

@support