Any advantage in running HQ Player with Roon?

Hi, I am new to Roon.
My system is rather simple. My music files reside in a Synology NAS (fully dedicated), Roon core runs in a fully dedicated laptop striped down to virtually nothing and “Fidelized”. They both are in a separate room away from my listening environment. They are connected to my Network player / Dac via ethernet with fiber isolation in between.
I am purist! By that I mean I play my music “bit-perfect”… no DSP, no upsampling, nothing.
In a couple of threads I remember reading about HQ Player improving SQ… Here is I would like your opinion / view:
If I load HQ Player on my dedicated laptop and channel Roon output through it (HQ), BUT without any filters, DSP signal processing etc (is that possible?), will there be any improvement in SQ?
Thank you!

In my view there is no point running HQ Player in the way proposed.

The SQ benefits of HQP arise from shifting processing from your DAC to a general purpose computer. The more powerful computer can run more intensive modulators and filters, including apodising filters that shift noise out of audible frequencies. The benefits depend on your DAC and it’s capabilities. HQP works best with DACs that can accept high resolution input and bypass internal processing.

I use an R/2R native DSD DAC (Holo Audio Spring 1) in NOS mode. All the work associated with upsampling, filters and modulation is performed by HQP in a dedicated server in another room. The DAC just converts from DSD to analog.

The best news, however, is that HQP has a trial mode. You can try it out and see what you think.

6 Likes

Simply NONE!

1 Like

Which network player and which DAC?

Ayon S-10 II - Ayon Audio USA

According to this review they used AKM 4490 DAC chips. So it depends what you mean by ‘pure’.

It is possible that HQPlayer’s digital filtering is better than the AKM chip’s, at least for the range of sample rates supported on input.

Only 2 ways to find out, measure and/or listen.