Apple Music Library Playlists have much fewer tracks in Roon

I am new to Roon and I am trying to migrate playlists from Apple Music. Having read a few posts on here I think I have the correct procedure, i.e. in Apple Music (File -> Library -> Export Library) and save it in my watched folder.

For instance, one smart playlist in Apple Music is for almost all of the files in my library and it contains 50,715 tracks. In Roon, only 8,612 tracks show in the playlist once it is imported. All (or almost all) of the 50,715 tracks imported into Roon OK, so they are in the library, just not in the playlist.

Most of the other playlists seem to have a similar proportion of tracks, i.e. only 15-25% of the tracks show.

Does anyone know what I can try to do to get this working? Thanks.

Hi @nickharambee,

So we can better assist you, please provide a brief description of your current setup using this link as a guide.

Make sure to describe your network configuration/topology, including any networking hardware currently in use, so we can have a clear understanding of how your devices are communicating.

Can you also confirm where your media and the XML file is stored?

As a side note, you may be interested in using Focus in Roon, which is similar to the Smart Playlist functionality in Apple Music. This might be an easier way for your to browse this type of selection compared to a playlist.

Core Machine (Operating system/System info/Roon build number)

MacBook Pro - OS Catalina 10.15.2 - Roon 1.7 (Build. 511)

Network Details (Including networking gear model/manufacturer and if on WiFi/Ethernet)

Accessing the internet through WiFi.

Audio Devices (Specify what device you’re using and its connection type - USB/HDMI/etc.)

Playback either directly through the Mac or to a second Roon core (Mac Mini connected to a DAC)