Roon Core Machine

Windows 10, HP Spectre 360, I7, 16GB RAM

Networking Gear & Setup Details

Netgear R6400v2, ethernet connection

Connected Audio Devices

for 4G ARC connection to core: LG G7 running Android 9

Number of Tracks in Library

Description of Issue

I run Roon Server on my HP Spectre laptop, which I move between my primary home and my second home. From my primary home my LG G7 will not connect to Roon Core through 4G using ARC. From my second home, which has same router model, there is no problem connecting through 4G using ARC.

I’m not a techie, so I need help with this. What’s the problem at my primary home if Roon ARC works from my second home with the same router model, and the same laptop and phone with exactly the same settings?

Hi @Kman_CT,

Could it be, in both your homes, that you have another modem/router provided by your ISP that is in the chain before the NetGear router?
Can you please answer the following questions - for both houses - so the community can support you further:

1. Who is your internet service provider?
  2. Please list the make and model of your ISP modem/router
  3. Do you have any additional network hardware, like additional routers (this would be the NetGear I think) or managed switches?
  4. Does your network have any VPNs, proxy servers, or enterprise-grade security?
1 Like

Thanks for your help. I own the modems at both homes which connect to Netgear R6400v2 routers. The laptop running Roon Server is connected via ethernet at both locations and runs Windows Security plus Malwarebytes Premium. No additional network hardware. No VPN or proxy servers.

Primary home (ARC doesn’t connect): ISP is Comcast. Modem is Netgear CM400

Second home (ARC does connect): ISP is Spectrum. Modem is Arris SURFboard (Older unit. I can’t provide model number until I’m there again.)

So you have if I understand right:

Primary home:
ISP Comcast Netgear CM400 → Netgear R6400v2 → laptop with Roon Core

Secondary home: