Are Favorites and other user preferences stored at the user's account level?

Hi

I’m new to Roon. I’ve installed the server on my HTPC (Windows 11) and added my music. But I’m planning on formatting my PC in the future. I’m aware of the backup feature, but after formatting, the location of my library will be changed to a remote one instead of a local one.

How would Roon treat a backup restoration if the source location has changed since the backup?

What happens to all of the tracks I’ve marked as favorites? Is this data stored on Roon servers per user account, or is it only stored locally and must be included in a backup?

Is there a way to back up all settings and preferences, besides saving a backup of the User/AppData/Local/Roon folder?

Thanks

It looks like you can treat this like a move to a new core with slight modifications.
Like in the “Preparation” you don’t have the “new” core ready, but when you do it should have the latest version. You would just need to make sure the “old” core is also on the same version.
Have a read here:

Thanks. But this does not answer my question. Suppose that I’ve marked a specific song as a favorite and also added it to a new playlist, let’s say “Beat it” by Michael Jackson from the Album Thriller, which is located in my current library in the following path D:\Music\Pop\MJ\Thriller.

Now, after doing a Roon backup, and moving my entire library to a new network location: \192.168.0.111\AV\Music and at the same time, the album folder Thriller was moved from the folder location Music\Pop\Thriller to a new location Music\Classic Pop\Michael Jackson\Thriller. Then, after formatting the old PC and reinstalling Windows and Roon, then restoring the last backup what would be the answer to these questions:

1. Will Roon Still find the album Thriller in its new location?
  2. Will Roon remember that the song Beat It was marked as favorite?
  3. Will beat it still be part of the playlist it was last added to?