Auralic Mini + Roon [RoonReady coming, now in beta]

Heys guy, I’m new to Auralic, I’ve intention to replace my NUC to Auralic Mini as a MusicServer. Since I’ve invested on Roon, can I use Roon to manage my music library instead of using the lighting DS software provided by Auralic?

sure! as far as you have Roon running on “something” on your network (the Aries is just a Roon endpoint)

oh… wait… Aries Mini? then sorry: it is not a Roon Ready device :frowning:

If you tell us your current setup and how you are hoping to use the Mini we might be able to make some suggestions if you want them.

Presently, I’m using a NUC loaded with Windows 10 and run Roon Core headless. The output, USB is connected to USB-DAC. Roon Remote is used on iPad to manage music library playback.

The Auralic Mini does not work with Roon at all as far as I understand. ( apart from via AirPlay that is )

And even with the Aries mini you would need to run RoonServer on your Nuc as you are doing at the moment.

What are you trying to do that your current setup does not do?

This response is just about Roon and does not factor in other streaming options / needs. A Mini will not work as a Roon endpoint because Auralic did not put the code in the Mini to allow it to do so. An Aries will, however, work as its own streamer and a Roon Endpoint. So that is an option.

If you just wanted a way to streamline your Roon setup and move the NUC out of the audio stack, then you should look into a Sonic Orbiter or a MicroRendu which are both Endpoints that accept an ethernet cable in and then plug into a USB DAC. Either way, you will still need your NUC to act as a RoonServer. None of the options discussed will take the place of the server necessary to run Roon’s backend.

1 Like

Thanks @Rugby, There are couple of reasons why I want to move away from PC…

1. PC is inherently more noisy when compared to dedicate devices.