Auto Identification of CDs from boxed sets

I’m new to Roon and am importing my CD collection. I have many boxed sets. The auto identification often fails when it’s anything but the first disk of the set. When I do manual identification of the disk, it finds the CD fine, but won’t align the tracks to the correct place in the boxed set, always starting at track one of disk one, and saying that there are tracks that don’t match.

The solution is always just to move the tracks to the right disk in the CD set. This should be automatic. One could create a “time error” metric of all the time errors through all the tracks, and then march the sequence of tracks through the array of the boxed set till one gets a minimum. Yes, there are cases this could fail (all tracks the same time, etc.) but these cases will be few and far between.

One could just try starting at Track one of each disk, and see if the time aligns. Whatever. Heck, even being able to select all tracks and shift them by hand would save tons and tons of mouse clicks, and reduce inter-facial friction significantly.

Because Roon has no way to shift multiple tracks at one time, fixing this within Roon is a pain. One disk set I have, 4 CDs, each 20+ tracks. Moving 20 tracks by hand from disk one positions to disk four positions? Well, I gave up after getting through about half in more than a half hour.

I hear that there are better apps for ripping, and that may be true. But Roon supports it now, and I hope it can support it better than it currently does.

SongKong may help. It will identify and tag the different discs as Disc 1, Disc 2, etc. Then, Roon will (usually) be able to figure them out correctly. It helps if all of the songs are in the same directory, and, from my experience, named 01-02, 02-02, 03-02, etc, where the first 2 digits are track numbers and the second two are disc numbers.
Yate is another metadata massager that can help with this.

Hello @Matt_Richter,