Auto select highest quality source by default, even if Tidal

Howdy :wave:

I am new to Roon and am very pleased with its functionality and quality so far! I amassed a music collection over the years but had neglected its use as my professional life garnered more attention and lesser services weaseled in with their seductive convenience. I have brought my collection back to life with Roon and am finding a vast array of long lost albums, bringing me great joy. Thank you Roon!

However, and I may very well be missing something, I would like to tell Roon to select the highest quality source available, even if it does not exist in my local library. If I have a lower quality MP3 or ACC source, can Roon go look on Tidal for a high quality version to play instead? I do understand that I can manually find the higher quality source and add to my library and tell Roon to hide the lower quality tracks, but that seems a bit cumbersome if I always want to defer to higher quality sources.

Is there a setting that I have missed?

Many thanks for your great product!

John

8 Likes

You’ll need to add the album to your collection first. So, for a given album, on the Versions tab select the higher quality recording for play, then add this to your library. Typically the higher quality releases are set as preferred for playback.

1 Like

Thanks Martin_Webster - I understand the flow for manually adding albums to my library from Tidal. I am inquiring to see if there is any functionality in place or planned to do this across my entire library. I would like to go ahead and bring in a higher quality version of every lossy rip in library in an automated way.

1 Like

Roon will populate the Version tab with alternative releases, but these won’t be added to your library automatically. You may be able to use a service like Soundiiz to replicate your library in TIDAL.

1 Like