Auto Sleep in API?

Hi,

I’m thinking of automation, can the Roon Auto Sleep function work with the API, can it sleep a Roon ROCK functioning as an endpoint?

Say I have HASS, my amp is on a Belkin Wemo Insight smart plug, I set Auto Sleep on Roon and it sends a signal to HASS which switches off the plug?

Ideally I also want to somehow have Roon Server (ROCK on Linux Server?) be able to WoL a Roon ROCK endpoint and switch my smart plug on…

Thanks.
Richard

Autosleep affects audio outputs that support standby or have extensions that add standby support. Autosleep does not apply to the Roon Core.

You can absolutely make a Roon extension for the Belkin Wemo to add standby support for your amp.

@danny I have the plugs but I’m not a programmer. If extensions are more Linux sysop stuff than coding I would be OK.

At this point I have zero experience with extensions.

I’m researching it now, it’s JS, I probably couldn’t write the code but I could get the API installed and configured no problem.

https://roonlabs.github.io/node-roon-api/RoonApiTransport.html

standby(output, opts, cbopt)

My thoughts would be to use a “broker” like Home Assistant (HASS), it simplifies things (no coding required) as supports everything:

HASS is in my future so I really only want HASS talking to the WeMo as it helps with tracking state, if only one “thing” is actually turning my plugs on/off, Alexa, HASS, Roon could all do it but best to “route” requests through HASS.

@Marcel_van_der_Veldt kindly develops roon-hass but it looks like he hasn’t logged on here since last August. His roon-hass github hasn’t been updated in 14 months (he has been active this month on other github projects), not being a programmer I’m not sure if Standby would need to be added to roon-hass or is roon-hass just a python wrapper around anything that the Roon API decides to expose, a translator between HASS and ROON.

Cheers
Richard