Backup attempt causing "Lost Connection" of ROCK NUC

Core Machine (Operating system/System info/Roon build number)

ROCK (OS build 174/Server build 416) running on Intel NUC (7i5BNH)

Network Details (Including networking gear model/manufacturer and if on WiFi/Ethernet)

Windows 10 - NetGear Switch - Bell Home Hub 3000 - Ethernet connections
Backup devices: 1) WD Book USB drive (USBed to NUC); 2) NetGear ReadyNAS 102 (Ethernet to switch)

Audio Devices (Specify what device you’re using and its connection type - USB/HDMI/etc.)

PS Audio Directstream-Bridge II

Description Of Issue

I have been doing backups to both WD Book and NAS device for many months (scheduled for 4AM and 5AM every day). Worked perfectly. Until a little over a week ago…When I got up in the morning I would find the NUC inaccessible (IP address not accessible even). I would reboot NUC an all good again. Once rebooted noticed that backups had not taken place. Even if I try a manual backup to either of these devices (even using new paths) I get “Connection Lost” message in Roon just after backup goes in to “Preparing” step (running manual backup from my Windows 10 laptop). IP address of NUC not accessible…re-boot required,

Any kind of attempt to backup causes NUC network connection loss

Thanks in Advance, Dave

Is your Nuc setup to use static IP address or a reserved dhcp allocation in your router? Sounds like the Nuc has got a new IP address. Does the roon remote show the core IP address?

Hi @David_Boyd,

Can you reproduce this behavior once more and make a note of the time the disconnect occurs? Response here with that time and we will enable diagnostic on your account so the tech team can take a look at what you’re experiencing.

Thanks,
Dylan

@Support: Performed another backup to NAS. Started at 9:50 Eastern Standard Time (New York-Toronto). Lost connection about 30 seconds later during Preparing stage. Have photos if needed

Thanks in advance