Best Linux to replace ROCK on a NUC

Hi there,

can anyone recommend a small, fast and easy to maintain Linux (or other Unix) to replace my ROCK installation on my Intel NUC7i3BNH.

Why I want to do this?

1. I want more control for power management. The NUC should shutdown/standby when the RoonServer isn’t playing music for 15 minutes.
  2. I would like to install extensions to control the RoonServer via a controller/keyboard (skip/pause …).
  3. If possible I want to let the NUC play AirPlay audio.

I’ve found that Arch Linux has a small footprint but is not easy to setup. So maybe the Arch based Manjaro could be an option if it is still smaller than UbuntuServer. Sorry, I’m a total Linux noob, but I don’t want to buy Windows and the ROCK shows, that Linux works well.

As I don’t own a display (I only have an iMac) the Linux should be maintained headless after setup. I thought about buying a touch screen, but as I understand it right, Roon doesn’t provide a GUI on Linux.

Thanks in advance for some hints

A quick question. What is your overall rationale for a small footprint? I ask because what would be more important to me would be support for the foreseeable future and the ability to do what you want as priorities. It may take something with a bigger footprint to do all of that. There is no free lunch. Lightweight and single mindedly in function or a little more rotund but with the ability to do the things you need.

One question. If the NUC is turned of after 15 minutes of not being used how will it turn back on? Wake onLan?