Border Patrol DAC

I see this mentioned very favourably over on Pink Fish, anyone here any experience or knowledge of it?

http://www.borderpatrol.net/DAC.htm

.sjb

Hi @Sloop_John_B

I sew your question about the Border Patrol DAC!
I have no experience about it, but from that I was reading on the company’s website and some reviews.
So does it clearly seems interesting, if you don’t want to up sample to more than 24/96! But it’s play’s TIDAL Masters so I hope that it’s also can play Roon MQA (what I think it can, because in my case it’s TIDAL Masters from the beginning)! That it’s also have Tubes is interesting.
I have sent a email to the company for more information about that format it’s playing and also if they have more information about it, like PDF file etc…
But to me it’s clearly a interesting DAC and the price is also great depending on what configuration/model that is chosen!
Because if you choose the expensive one, we’ll when it’s the same money as the Brooklyn DAC! What is more interesting because of it’s different formats and it’s MQA, also Roon ready!
I don’t know there you live? I’m living in Sweden and the USD is low against the Swedish SEK “for the moment” so normally does the Brooklyn cost around 20.000 SEK (it’s a normal money for a months working) but now it’s down on 16.000 SEK so it’s 4.000 SEK cheaper, and for 4.000 SEK it’s that I put on food for a month :grinning:.
But if I get any answer from Border Patrol about their DAC, so will I get back to you If you want?

Best,
Anders

1 Like

One weird thing I noticed on the Website. It says:

I suspect this DAC doesn’t actually decode (or render) MQA, so that statement strikes me as rather misleading. (I, too, have a non-MQA-capable DAC that will play Tidal Masters, and so do a lot of other people.)