Build 1202 broke my local setup (unsupported, multi-VLAN config)

Roon Core Machine

Linux VM (Linux roon 5.10.0-20-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 5.10.158-2 (2022-12-13) x86_64 GNU/Linux)

Networking Gear & Setup Details

UniFi ethernet network with multiple local VLANs (this is fundamental to and unavoidable for my home setup). 10Gbit connectivity between buildings.

172.28.10.x - Servers/Shared
172.28.20.x - Main House
172.28.40.x - Guest House
172.28.50.x - Workshop/Garage

There is no multicast DNS configured between these networks currently.

There are no firewall rules blocking traffic between the VLANs currently, all network segments are routable between each other.

Connected Audio Devices

macOS and iOS audio zones on ethernet and WiFi 6/6E.

Number of Tracks in Library

~18,000

Description of Issue

I’ve been running a multi-VLAN local network with Roon for several years, up to and including the most recent ARC/2.0 builds. I set up my Roon Core to have an interface in each of the 4 relevant local VLANs on my network. This has been working for me just great, although I recognize it’s an unsupported configuration.

Specifically with the 1202 build Roon no longer works with my setup. Roon clients can connect successfully to the Roon core, but every 5 seconds or so the Roon client freaks out, re-connects to the core, and bounces me back to the Home Screen in the Client.

In previous builds, the Roon clients would only see the IP address of the core in the single, specific VLAN/network that the client was connected to. For instance, if I was connected to the “172.28.50.x” WiFi, only the Core interface in that network would be detected by relevant clients. So the clients would only ever see one of the core IP addresses at any given time, depending on which network the client is/was connected to.