Building an ideal NAS server with ROON server. Noob here

Hello everyone!
First of all I just hope that I am posting on the proper section of the forum.
Secondly, I hope that my post isn’t too vague. I can understand that maybe there are a thousand different approaches on these kind of setups, but I would appreciate if you would provide me with some starting info or guide me towards the right direction. :slight_smile:

So, I want to build a NAS server for my movies and have ROON installed on that one, too.

What I have so far:

• Case: Fractal Design Array R2 (includes a 300W custom power supply provided from Fractal Design)
  • 1TB SATA SSD for OS and storing the music (movies will be on HDDs)

Requirements:

• Run Roon flawlessly
  • Able to feed to home network 4K video material uncompressed - NO transcoding
  • Be as cheap as possible
  • Be as power efficient as possible

Questions:

1. Any thoughts on what kind of processor should I be using? I saw that the ROON guides recommend an i3, but there so many differences on i3 processors of various generations that I am not really sure if this is relevant any more.
  2. What OS should I be using? If it’s windows, then what version would be the most ideal? Have in mind that I am targeting the low power consumption, too.
  3. Is the included Fractal Design PSU OK for low power consumption?
  4. Is the SATA HDD enough for ROON or do I need a NVMe one? (I guess an NVMe would be overkill…)

Thanks everyone in advance for any kind of input!
Have a nice weekend everyone! :rocket:

Personally, I would not use a NAS for Roon.

1 Like

Why not?
After all a PC that has a Windows Share and ROON installed on it would be considered as a NAS, am I right?

You’re right. I think Jim meant a standalone NAS box.

What I call “NAS” at home is an external two-disk USB enclosure, connected to an old laptop. The laptop shares the USB volume on the network, runs Roon core, LMS and performs periodic maintenance on my files.

2 Likes