Building a ROCK system

If I can’t buy one used, I’m wondering if anyone can enlighten me as to the most inexpensive Roon Rock? Noob here, but I’ve built PCs before. I looked at the page here and was a bit confused re what NUCs work. I also would be open to building a compact pc, but the posts I have seen are a bit outdated. If anyone has done this, I’d be grateful for a parts list!!!

Have you seen the component list here: https://kb.roonlabs.com/Roon_Optimized_Core_Kit? NUC with i3 processor plus memory and SSD is around £330. These are 8th generation NUCs.

2 Likes

Since you said you had experience building PC’s and were looking for something inexpensive, I thought I might mention another option to consider. I run my Roon setup off of a couple of Ubuntu Server 18.04 LTS boxes that are running Roon Server (instead of Roon Rock) and a secondary Ubuntu box (a spare 2011 Dell workstation) that I use as a Samba share with a large storage disk for additional music. You said that you were a “Noob” but it was hard to tell if you meant a “Roon noob” or a “computer noob”. The point of this post (since you seemed to be concerned about hardware compatibility) was to point out that as far as I can tell, any box that can run a compatible Linux distribution will run Roon Server with no problem. If you’re comfortable installing Samba and setting up a share to the PC/Mac where you’re ripping CD’s or downloading hi-res albums then this was a nice solution that worked well with my available machines & skill set. I’m sure similar results could be had with Windows as well.

To summarize and directly answer your question, the most inexpensive “Roon Rock” can be Roon Server running on any hardware you can load an operating system on. :slight_smile: It’s not as automated as Rock but I’ve been very pleased with the results. I found the additional setup work required to be trivial and the extra control over the boxes to be nice. YMMV. :wink: