Bypass MacBook Pro DAC

Hi Everyone,

I’m new to Roon and starting to make my first (small) steps into better equipment. I currently have a 2016 MacBook Pro that I’d like to connect to Vanatoo Transparent One Encore speakers. Since these speakers accept a 96/24 signal in via USB and TOSLINK only (and Apple removed the ability to output this resolution via TOSLINK), am I able to run USB-C out of the Mac to USB in on the speaker, bypassing the Mac’s internal DAC, and getting the full 92/24 signal to the speaker? I’d like to not connect an external DAC to the Mac, because the speakers have their own and I don’t want to go digital>analog>digital>analog; I’m trying to keep the signal path and therefore, the data, as clean as possible before the speaker decodes it.

Thanks for any input!

Hi Tyler,

Welcome to the Roon Community.

I think that should work. When you connect the speaker via USB, you should be able to see them in Roon’s Settings > Audio tab. There you would Enable the Zone.

Once you’re playing a track, click on the coloured dot at the bottom of the screen, next to the track name, to show the a Signal Path.

Post a screenshot of the Settings > Audio tab and the Signal Path, if you’re having issues.

Cheers, Greg

Hi Tyler, if you’d rather avoid having a long cable hanging from your MacBook Pro, you could have the Roon Core on the MacBook and place a little Rasberry Pi computer with Roon Bridge software near the speakers, and connect the speakers with USB to the Raspberry. You could even connect the Raspberry via Toslink, using a Hifiberry Digi+ card. I believe any such solution would make your setup more flexible.