Can I do it this way ? (Setup help, please)

I started my trial with Roon Core loaded on my (2012) MacBook Pro. I liked what I saw, so I signed up for yearly.

Only a fraction of the music on my Mac mini is copied to the MBP. Searching through the help files and topics on the forum, I’ve come to the conclusion that I should run Roon Core on the Mac mini, which has a 4Tb SSD in it, and Roon Bridge on the MBP.

Am I on the right track with that ?

A follow up question is, can I have Roon Core also loaded on the MBP for use when I am away from the home network ? It looks as if I can as long as deactivate the Roon Core on the Mac mini, before activating Roon Core on the MBP ?

1 Like

Welcome to the Roon Community,

Good start

Yes

You could just use the MBP as the core and utilise the MAC mini as the storage. I’m not a MAC expert though but I would say this would save messing changing authentication on cores.

That’s true, and if I never took the MBP out of the house that looks like the right solution.

My OP question relates to using Roon in two locations, on a regular basis, without going to the expense of a 2nd licence.

If I point the Roon Core on the MBP to the Mac mini network share where I store all of my music files for home use, can I then easily switch to a local MBP store when away from the home network ?

Roon Arc will do this for you

That was in the back of my mind.

If I have a Roon Ready endpoint (likely an Argon Audio Solo) at the remote location (i.e. not on the home network), but the ARC handset (iPhone or whatever) and the endpoint are on the same wifi network, I will be apply to play to the Solo ?

No, Roon doesn’t work that way. Roon ARC will only use the audio output capabilities of your iPhone - it can’t see other Roon Zones (i.e. other endpoints) in your network.