Can I run a Ext DAC from a Digi Hat on a Raspberry Pi Bridge

Hi Gents,

Just a quick question.

I have NUC Roon Rock (Core), Rasp Pi 3b with Justboom DAC HAT (Bridge) running into my (Old) Denon AMP and (Old) KEF speakers.

The question is

Can I swop the DAC HAT to a Justboom DigiHat and run (via Co Ax) into an external DAC? Just also wondering if Roon will pick this up in the signal path?

Looking to just get a bit better sound quality (budget is £250) than my existing Justboom DAC HAT.

Streaming from Tidal on Master Quality.

Thanks

Si

Yes that will work.

You will just need to reconfigure your DAC output in the Raspberry Pi distro.

Thanks Wayne,

I didn’t think it would be that easy, no problem with Pi distro. I was thinking of going for a Soncoz LA QXD1.

Just to confirm. The Roon Signal Path will pick up the Digi Hat and the Soncoz separately? I am a bit new to this sorry.

Thanks for your reply.

Si

Hi Si,

Yes as long as the Raspberry Pi is on the same network as your core and the DAC is configured correctly in your distro, then all is well.

I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on the Soncoz DAC.

I’m actually doing the same as yourself using a Khadas Tone board.

I believe the guy who designed the Khadas is the same guy who built the Soncoz.

Thanks Wayne,

I will order up tonight and get back to you with the results.

Si

1 Like

Hi Wayne,

I have set up the Soncoz and the sound difference is obvious. Bass is so much less mixed and vocals come out and make sure I’m listening, where they used to glide over me. Mark Ronson’s latest album and Peter Gabriel Birdy are just so different, in a good way. I played Rodrigo: Concierto de Aranjuez;Concerto for Guitar Adagio 2 and I just heard notes that I wasn’t aware of as the separation of instruments was so much more defined.