Can someone explain why Roon recommends a separate core and player vs core direct to DAC use?

Hello!
I’ve been using Roon for a few months now and I’m generally happy with it. I am also experimenting with Audirvana trial right now.

I stumbled on the recommendation from Roon NOT to use the machine you have your Roon core on direct to your dac. Maybe I didn’t ready the “how to’s” carefully enough, but can someone explain to me why this is the case?

Currently I run Roon on my Mac Mini M1 USB out to my Schiit Bifrost 2 to my Schiit Asgard 3 headphone amp. Sounds pretty good to me.

I also have an iPad Pro that I have a USB cable I can run directly to my DAC if I want to. Is that a better setup than directly from my Mini? Would that satisfy their recommendation not to run directly from the machine running the core?

Please help me understand the subtleties around this type of setup?

Thank you!!

I’ve been using a USB connection from my ROCK NUC to my main DAC for years.

I am thinking Roon’s recommendations on that front are out dated.

You can setup a DDC between your source (roon core) and your DAC to minimize noise from the source like USB noise. Many people use a streamer like the Bluesound Node 2i or a Raspberry Pi with RopieeeXL. The benefit depends for example on the power supply of the source and the quality the USB inputs on your source and DAC.

I have a late 2014 Mac Mini i5 which I run Roon server on. If I connect the Mac Mini directly to the DAC I get noise if I use very sensitive IEMs. To get rid of that I connected the Mac Mini to a Raspberry Pi running said RopieeeXL and the noise is gone. Another great thing about the RoPieeeXL is that you can stream using UPNP, HQPlayer, Airplay and even Spotify if I recall correctly. I don’t use all it’s functions to be honest.

Hope this helps.
Cheers

1 Like