Can't connect to music on NAS drive -- network share error 68 [fixed]

Without doing anything to my set up, except being gone on travel for a couple weeks, all the music on the NAS drive was suddenly not available and it said under the Storage tab in Settings, “Error connecting to network share: 68” I tried everything I could think of, including reading two prior posts which involved the same error message, but nothing has helped. I have the latest versions of everything and Roon is running on a new MacBook Pro. The NAS drive is a Synology 415+ I think. This is crazy complicated when something like this happens, and I am not a computer expert, just an audiophile.

Does anyone have any suggestions I could try? Thanks, and happy holidays!

While you were away, was the NAS or the network rebooted? Is the NAS on a dynamic or fixed ip address? It should be on a fixed address.

The only thing that could have happened is the power could have gone off briefly. I assume the NAS is on a fixed ip address, because it’s always been the same address.

Hi Kerry,
Can you double check to see if your NAS is still on that ‘same’ IP address?
If it has changed that would explain why Roon can’t see it anymore.

It also worth, making sure that it really does have a fixed IP [this applies to all servers really].

If the IP has changed, you will have to remove the current Roon watched folder and then re-add it with the new credentials.

Hi Carl,

What exactly is a “fixed” IP? Can you please explain how I can check to see what IP address the NAS is on? Thanks very much.

Thanks for the suggestions. I was able to reboot the NAS drive again and this time the problem went away. Thanks for the help.

Background Information - Why IPs change

Most networked devices get their IP address using DHCP. The way this works is when the device boots it requests from the DHCP server what IP address it should use.