CD Ripping, Backup and Remote Access Workflow

I’ve been using Roon for about 6 months and I thought I’d share my workflow as it might help others. First a little background. About 20 years ago I ripped my CDs to digital files. I used the AAC format, FLAC didn’t exist back then or wasn’t popular. It took a long time and sound quiality was good but not the same as CDs. About 7 years ago I had a hard drive failure and lost many of the digital files. At that point streaming was becoming popular and quality was as good as my AAC rips. So I simply moved online. Then CD quality streaming became available. But my biggest grip with online services is music disappears as licensing agreements change. I love how Roon integrates with Tidal. It has allowed me to discover new music and encouraged me to listen to CDs that have been ignored for too long. This got me thinking I really need to rip all my CDs again. This time as FLAC and make sure I don’t lose the files again. Computers are much faster today, disk storage is cheap, redundant online backup is also affordable.

Objectives:
FLAC or hi-res music files stored locally and accessible to Roon
Cost effective offsite backup
Mobile access
Limited maintenace required

Soures:
CD, Tidal

Tools:
Roon (local listening)
Tidal app and CloudBeats app (mobile listening)
dBpoweramp (Ripping)
Hazel (OS X file orginazation/automation app)
Synology NAS (local stoage in a RAID array)
OneDrive (off-site back up and mobile accessibility)

Results:
One click CDs ripping.