Changing Roon set up

Core Machine (Operating system/System info/Roon build number)

HP Elitebook laptop

Network Details (Including networking gear model/manufacturer and if on WiFi/Ethernet)

Wired Ethernet

Audio Devices (Specify what device you’re using and its connection type - USB/HDMI/etc.)

USB to Metrum Onyx

Description Of Issue

I have a paid subscription to Roon. Initially started off with installing the Core, app and endpoint all on the HP laptop using the USB to connect to my DAC. As I read, enjoy and learn more, I would like to only have Roon Core on the laptop and build a Raspberry PI4 for music playback using USB connection. Is there sonic benefits for this set up? How do I ‘downgrade’ the install on the HP laptop to Core only - do I need tp delete Roon and re-install on HP?

On the laptop you only need to install Roon; this is currently your Roon Core, App and endpoint in one download.

If you use a Raspberry Pi this will be an endpoint only (Roon Bridge), so you’ll still need the App or a Roon Remote device to control Roon.

Using a separate networked endpoint (Roon Bridge) is recommended by Roon and can have advantages over a direct connection to the Core, but it is not essential.

There is no need to “downgrade” Roon on the laptop. When you add a Bridge this will be recognised by Roon and you can enable it from Settings > Audio for playback.

1 Like

Hi Martin,

thank you for taking the time out to respond. I should have been a little clear; currently I am using an iPad and iPhone as Roon remote, so going forward don’t need an endpoint and remote on the laptop, freeing it for Core purpose only.

In that case how do I ‘downgrade’ the Roon software to run only the core on the laptop? Or do I need to backup, delete the install and re-install Roon as Core on the laptop?

Thanks,