Chord Qutest lights don't follow native resolution on macOS [Solved]

Is there no way to just ask someone at Roon a question? I have searched for an answer to my question on your site without success. I’d rather just speak (or write) to a tech support person than start on the message board. Are you set up for this? If not I think my trial membership will be it.

We’re here ready to help @David_Deitch!

Other than billing we all do all support here, but we’re happy to answer any questions you have, so just let us know.

great, that’s so much for the quick reply. I’m very new to computer audio. Here’s my question: I run Roon on my mac mini which holds all my music files in an external drive. The mac is connected by usb to a Chord Qutest dac. A light on the Qutest tell you what resolution audio its receiving. When I first set it up, the light stayed on red, indicating 44.1, regardless of the native resolution of the file I was playing. I contacted the Chord dealer and was told I needed to change the audio setting on the Mac Audio Devices page to a higher resolution. I did that, changing the selected resolution from 44.1 to 192. Now the light on the Qutest stays blue all the time, whether I’m playing a 44.1 file, a 192 file, or something in between. The implication to me is that something (the mac?) is upsampling the audio before it gets to the dac; my problem is I want the dac to do all the upsampling. I’m contacting you now because I run Roon in exclusive mode on the mac, and I thought it took over all audio control in that mode. When I play a song through Roon, the display indicates its playing at the proper resolution (44.1, or 96 or 192 as the case may be), but the light on the dac stays on red or blue, depending on what resolution the mac Audio Devices window is set to. Basically I’m asking if Roon is ensuring that the native resolution is being output to the dac, and if not, is there any settings I can change on the mac or on Roon to make it do so? Right now it a