Clicking to Start a Track

I’ve been using Roon on my Mac for several months now and I’ve yet to discover how I can click play on a track just once to get it to start playing. Usually, I have to click several times in different areas of the button for the track listing. Is there a secret I’m missing? Is Roon trying to tell me something about my choices in music? It seems like a small thing, but it’s really annoying and makes me feel like the software is poorly written.

Related to the UI, I can’t find any documentation about what this icon is, and it lacks a tooltip…

22%20PM

If you klick on the :arrow_forward: triangle in front of the work / track it should start playback:

(yellow arrow: inactive play indicator; orange: active play indicator (mouse pointer over it))

It’s indicating the number of TIDAL recordings of a work present in your library, I think (I don’t use TIDAL).

that doesn’t make any sense. I don’t have a “Library” and while I have favorited some track, these indicators appear on all sorts of things I’ve never even seen before. Super confusing.

To expand on u_gee said, you can decide what you want the one tap icon to do by going into Settings > Play Action. In the example, select Tracks in Albums and you can activate/deactivate/move various actions. The one at the top will be the one tap (click) action.

In my Setup, clicking the triangle will immediately add the track to the Queue.

Cheers, Greg

I know how the play button works. I’m explaining that it does not, in fact, play on first click (at least for Tidal) about 95% of the time. It usually requires 3+ clicks.

It’s basically how many other versions of that song are on Tidal; some might be live, collaborations, on best of albums etc - if you don’t like the version that it presents you can click on that that and find the rest of them. Quite handy at times.