Crashes on Mac Mini

Hi, @support, I’m new to Roon and want to sign up, but Roon keeps crashing on my Mac Mini. It doesn’t matter if it is playing music or not. The crashes are inconsistent. I’ve managed to play from my library and Tidal for several hours, but other times, it crashes in just a few minutes after launching and before playing.

I have a 2011 Mac Mini i5 with SSD and 16gb RAM, using a mounted share from Synology. The library is large with 100k tracks ( a lot of duplicates) and they are everything from MP3 to DSD.

I’ve read through some forum posts and it seems like lots of people have this problem.

Should I even bother continuing to use a Mac Mini for this?

If not, what’s the lowest cost, but appropriate, machine I could use to run a Roon server?

I do have a Windows 10 machine that is used for VR and gaming, and would also consider installing there, as long as it doesn’t screw up the performance for its other uses.

Thanks!

Bhavesh Patel

Hi @Bhavesh_Patel ----- Thank you for the report and sharing your feedback with us. Sorry to hear of the troubles.

Moving forward, I think it would be slightly premature to give up on the MacMini right now :wink: In light of the above, I have enabled diagnostics on your account as this action will automatically generate/upload a diagnostics report directly to our servers the next time your core machine comes online.

The mentioned report should give us a better sense as to what could be causing the issue on the mentioned device and then we can more accurately advise on what the “next steps forward” should be.

-Eric

Hi Eric,

I have relaunched the Roon App. It has crashed once so far. I’ll keep and eye and re-launch as necessary.

thanks!

Bhavesh

Thanks for touching base with me @Bhavesh_Patel, very appreciated!