Database Corruption

Roon Core Machine

Small Green Computers sonicTransporter i5, internal 1TB SSD with 213GB of stored music, version 2.8

Networking Gear & Setup Details

N/A

Connected Audio Devices

N/A

Number of Tracks in Library

24000 tracks

Description of Issue

In late december 2021 with the last major update my database failed to upgrade due to corruption. I was able to restore to an earlier version. After the last major roon update in February my database could not be upgraded due to corruption. I tried restoring and that was not successful. I’ve been using Roon since 2016 and never had an issue with corruption prior to dec 2021. Andrew from Small Green Computers remotely logged into the unit, checked the hardware and said the hardware is good (RAM and SSD). Can Roon provide an option or an automatic check on whether a backup is good? I have multiple backups and they are all bad. Storing backups is only good if the backups are not corrupt and able to be restored. Can you look at my database to see if it can be fixed? How can I detect corruption on the first corrupt backup so that I can restore to the previous version that is not corrupt?

The only way to check if a backup is good is to try and restore from it. If the backup fails this indicates that it’s corrupt.

You’ll need to wait for support to confirm, but I don’t think there are any ways to fix a corrupt database or backup.

I think the only way to do this is to try a restore. If it succeeds, you’ve found a good backup, but from what you said it looks like you might have already gone through all your backups and not found one that would work. If that’s the case then I suspect there isn’t much you can do. Again though, hopefully support will have something more encouraging to add.

Unfortunately this was part of that major update late last year…to try to eliminate corrupt DB and backups.

Again unfortunately it had been allowed for corrupt backups to occur with no real integrity check.