dCS Network bridge + MSB Select II DAC - Not achieving bit perfect playback

Hello Eric,

I am new to Roon community. I am just starting and getting experience. I discovered a strange thing in my Roon setup. The tracks are not played bit perfect. Here is the setup.

The DAC is MSB Select II DAC. The RAAT device is dCS Network Bridge. Both are connected together with 2 cables : AES/EBU for data and BNC for clock. The MSB dac provides reference clock to the dCS Bridge and received music data by AES/EBY cable.

The dCS bridge serves 2 protocols RAAT and DLNA/UPNP. The roon core and J.River Mediacenter are installed on the same MAC notebook. The MediaCenter is acting as DLNA/UPNP server for dCS Network Bridge.

The MSB publish special BitPerfect tracks to diagnose if their DACs play tracks bitperfect. Only MSB DACS understand those tracks of course, they display BITPERFECT PASS if the MSB provided test track is being played bitperfect. When I play the MSB test track from MacBook with J.River to dCS Network Bridge, (actually I choose the track using dCS provided application) the track is being identified on MSB DAC as bit perfect. Doing the same from ROON thru the same hardware that is : dCS Network Bridge to MSB DAC, the Select II DAC reports that the track was not played bit perfect.This is not related to frequency, each test track fails on ROON/RAAT with dCS.

The problem might be in dCS Network Bridge RAAT protocol implementation or may be in the Roon itself. I am not expecting you to solve this issue, just reporting something interesting and important, which may (I hope) have positive influence in playback quality in the future.

Let me know if anything comes to you mind in this regard. Maybe this is known issue ?

Thank you
Jarek

Hi @Jaroslaw_Orszanski ----- Thank you for following up with me, as you can see I went a head and made your PM a public topic :sunglasses: