Denon and Samsung Airplay issues

I’m new to Roon (currently trying out the trial) but I believe I’m having the same issue with different Airplay speakers.

I’m using ROCK (on one of two unsupported NUC type boards that seem to work perfectly and have plenty of headroom for my use at the moment). I realise the hardware is are unsupported, but I don’t think that’s likely to be the cause of my issue in this case… my best guess is it could be my Unifi network setup but given the above discussions it could also just be an issue with AirPlay/Roon.

The devices that don’t work are:

• Denon X1200W (connected via LAN to the same subnet that my ROCK is on)
  • Samsung HW-S60A (connected via Wifi to a separate subnet that all my Chromecasts are on)

I can chromecast to the Samsung fine, but although Roon also detects the Samsung as AirPlay it simply doesn’t work at all (play does nothing, volume changes don’t work etc). Spotify can connect to it perfectly from my phone (on the wifi) or my Windows PC (on the LAN).

The Denon doesn’t support Chromecast, but is detected as an AirPlay device. If I try to play to it, I get the same behaviour as the Samsung with one exception… I can “trick” Roon into connecting by streaming to the Denon from Spotify, then pausing and using Roon to “take over the stream”. It’s like Roon works fine once the Denon is already in AirPlay mode, but is incapable of putting it into that mode.

As I said, I’m new to Roon so I may be doing something stupid?

Roon doesn’t work across subnets, so I think that’s one problem. It only works on a single broadcast domain.

Interesting, that’s easily remedied and I’ll test on one subnet. I suspect that’s not my issue though because the chromecasts that are all working perfectly with roon are on a different subnet and the Denon is on the same subnet as roon (and not working).

Will test and come back here.

Ok, it’s all now on the same subnet (a mix of wifi and LAN, all in the one subnet).