DietPi + Roonbridge do not appear in audio settings

Hi,

I wanted to test RoonBridge at home but somehow do not seem to get it to work.

I followed the instructions for installing DietPi (install image on sd card), logged into my raspi pi via ssh, dietpi prompted me to install an update, then rebooted, then installed roon bridge successfully via entering the 3 recommended commands successively.

My RoonBridge is now running on my raspi 2 and is connected via Ethernet cable to my network.

I did not connect an external speaker yet, as I am missing a simple cinch cable (I want to attach the Roonbridge raspi via cinch cable to the aux in input of an active speaker).

I actually now expected to find RoonBridge as an audio zone within Roon audio settings.

Any idea what went wrong or how I could check if everything is setup right?

Hello again Kian,

What is your Roon Core running on? Can it play to other devices on your network?

I am only a beginner myself in this area but I presume you have pinged the Pi and it is visible on your network?

Whilst in a SSH session try the following commands

aplay -l
For audio string listing

systemctl status roonbridge -l
For roonbridge status

I presume that there needs to be an audio device connected for Roon to see the PI…? So you would need the onboard audio at least connected. I may be wrong though…!

Just checked:

Roon Bridge is running since 2 hours and when checking a play, I do not know what to look for but also everything looks fine.

My roon core is running on a NUC with Win10 and is able to find my amplifier which is connected to my router via Ethernet cable. My raspi is also connected to my router via Ethernet.

Regarding connection requirement: I seriously do not know if the raspi needs to be connected to my active speaker. And I also cannot test it as I cannot seem to find a stupid cheap cinch cable in my house.

Hi,

Can you ping the Pi from your NUC? This will check basic network connectivity.