Display meta-data Comments

Hello. I am new to Roon and currently I’m using a trial version that came with my new SOTM sms-200. (Shout out to Crux Audio for fantastic service!)

A large portion of my music collection consists of LPs which I’ve digitized. I have added comments to many of them with the itunes comments tag — like “This LP was a gift from Uncle Louis.” Or " Decca SXL xxxx" or “Tracks 1 and 5 are fantastic.” Etc.

Is there any way to view these comments in Roon, or will they be lost if I permanently decide to use Roon?

Thanks,
Ron

5 Likes

I would love to see this integrated. Where had you stored the comments previously?

Itunes metadata includes “Comments”. I have my remarks entered there. Other software that I use — JRiver and Audirvana Plus let me see these comments. Doesn’t Roon allow this?

Roon does not touch the meta-data in your files; so that data will not be lost. However, at this time Roon does not display a comments field data.

If you want to make a Feature Request to display a comments field from Meta-Data, I can move this thread to that section.

2 Likes

I’ve never found something for the whole album but you can get into comments through file tags on individual songs. Single song => View File Info => File Tags

Not the easiest way in and its not for the whole album.

Yes, I would appreciate your doing this. I can’t speak for others, but being able to view comments would make Roon much more useful to me. Thanks!

2 Likes

One more reason display of comments would be useful. Sometimes I search for an album via a path like label (RCA, Decca, Blue Note, etc.) -> Artist -> Album, where the first criterion is stored in ‘Comments’.

• 1 here for being able to display contents of Comments field, which I used extensively.
1 Like

Same general point others have made. It would be a great improvement to Roon if users could leverage ALL their meta tags, custom or standard…

4 Likes

Any news regarding this topic/feature request?