Does mac OSX automatically convert ALAC to M4a without asking?

I discovered that files I ripped into ALAC format were mysteriously converted to m4a format days or months later for reasons unknown to me. Is this something that the mac OSX does automatically? Does it do this if I use the hard drive optimization that is built into the operating system. If anyone can help or point to a thread on this, it would be appreciated. More details below.

So I prefer rip my CDs into FLAC format. However, for family reasons (Macs in the house), I do rip about 25% of my files into ALAC. I have a Roon lifetime subscription and use it as my primary player, with the Roon core and file storage on a mac-mini.

Since I have Tidal, when I select music to listen to, it will play from local files or from Tidal. However, one day when my internet connection was down, I realized I couldn’t access files that I should have on my local drive, as they did not show up in my Roon library. I eventually discovered that the ALAC files had been converted to M4a files! WTF???!!!

Of course Roon does not play M4a files, and I would never choose this format. Even my hi-res HDTracks were converted. I discovered that my ALAC files were converted anywhere from hours to months after they were ripped, according to the “modified date” shown in the file manager. It looks like they were likely converted in batches.

Is this something that the Mac OSX does automatically? Is it possible that it happens if the OSX hard drive optimization is run from the services menu? Or, is there some other reason this might happen on a Mac? Finally, is there anyway to prevent this in the future (because ALAC is needed for the family idevices that won’t run FLAC)?

Thanks for any help you can offer.