Does thumb up/down in shuffle play get remembered in any way?

Hi. I’m still learning the interface, and couldn’t find an answer in the community or in the user guide so figured I’d ask it here.

In shuffle play, I realize that the thumb up & down buttons add tracks to the queue (or prevent a track from getting added). My question: is that data stored anywhere? Does it affect anything in the future, or is it just for the particular session?

Thanks,

Peter

Interesting question. I always assumed it a stored as a permanent “don’t pick this track again”.

Getting rid of the files for future shuffles after “thump down” was my expectation for roon’s behaviour too but having used the shuffle play more often during the last weeks I realized that the already “thumped down” treated track was provided in a later shuffle for the same criteria again - so my experience “thump up/down” is a pure temporarily judgement (different behavior than banning items).

Right now, it’s only tracked for the session, ie until you start Radio again, or shuffle something new.

The thinking was that just because a song isn’t what you want at this moment, it shouldn’t be banned from being picked forever. This makes sense in your library (since you can already ban any songs you actually never want to hear again) but we may need to rethink this once tracks from TIDAL (that aren’t in your library) are included.

We have plans to overhaul Radio and shuffle play, but some of the metadata improvements we’re working on now needed to happen first. Expect the selections to get much better guys.

2 Likes

I agree completely. I often use the feature to generate a temporary playlist with tracks I like to hear NOW. So a thumb down should only be for the current session. To ban a track permanently another mechanism should be used.