Easiest way to add (wireless) streaming to DAC?

Newbie here :slight_smile:

Just came across a very good deal on a Mytek Brooklyn DAC and could not pass it up. I will have this on my bedside table and use with headphones only. My ROCK is too far away to hardwire into and I was wondering what would be the easiest solution to stream to this DAC? I don’t really want to have this connected via USB to my remotes.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Cheers :+1:

I know I always say this but…
Google Chromecast Audio pucks.
Still about $50 used on eBay in the USA, no idea on cost or availability in the UK though.
Child’s play to set up and stream from.
Only up to 24/96 though if that matters.
Has a mini toslink digital output.

2 Likes

Cheerio young man :slight_smile: Would actually want something which does not limit Qobuz hi-res.

Not so young…lol

1 Like

Does not keep me from saying it Kevin :stuck_out_tongue:

So with the Chromecast, it’s as easy as popping this in the toslink of the DAC and then Roon will pick it up and I can stream to it? Obvs I first have to connect the Chromecast to my wifi network :slight_smile:

1 Like

Or a RPi and Riopeee? Then USB

5 Likes

For me yes it was that easy.
Once connected to my WiFi network Roon saw them instantly as zones ready to enable and then stream to.
I have three on never a glitch or dropout on any including one that is downstairs while modem/ router is upstairs.

1 Like

+1 for a Pi running Ropieee.

No brainer for cost, quality and functionality.

2 Likes

Cheers gents. The Ropieee connects to my wifi and then to the DAC via USB and that’s it right?

1 Like

This… :point_up_2:

A $60 RPi4 2GB Kit connected up via a USB-A to USB-B cable is all you need. $20 gets you a nicer aluminium case.