Emotiva XMC-1 USB Bit Depth Problems

I am new to Roon — I started my trial today. So far I really like using it. I am one of those folks who has meticulously maintained their metadata so I have a little ways to go getting my music to look “right” in Roon. But it has been a most excellent experience so far.

I have encountered some odd behavior when playing back through my XMC-1. I’m running Windows 10 64bit on a NUC in my living room. All the latest updates are applied. Roon is installed on the NUC and is running perfectly. I’m connected using a short USB cable, without any hubs or other equipment along the way, from the NUC directly to the USB input on the XMC-1. But for some reason, Roon reports that the USB input is only capable of 16 bits precision. To make things more bizarre, the XMC-1 display reports 24 bits PCM flowing in on that input!

On further investigation, I noticed something else strange — the USB input seems to disappear or simply fail to reconnect. Is there a better driver to use that’s more reliable? The only one available is “ASIO for Generic USB Device” at the moment. Also on the list in Roon is “ASIO for USB” but that fails any time I try to enable that interface. See the attached screenshots for reference.

@support please help!

Thanks,
Richard

You might try the other usb device.

FYI, ASIO drivers usually have their own set up program with a control panel that tells teh ASIO driver what bit depth to use

No issues here with XMC-1:

Why are you doing a sample rate conversion?

@Dan_Herrmann — I’m doing sample rate conversion to upsample to take advantage of the easier filtering at higher sampling rates. Is there some other way I should be achieving this? Even without sample rate conversion I’m still seeing the reported 16 bits.