General system overview ... Newbie

Here’s the silly question from a complete novice.
Current system: Aries with attached USB hard drive wired directly to Devialet and controled by iPad and Lightning DS. Aries is wireless to home network.
Roon system just installed: Roon is installed on a Macbook. Macbook is wireless. Usb drive “library” has been “read” and the Aries is identified as the output when using the macbook and/ or the iPad app.
My question: when playing music with Roon are the files still spooling from the usb drive directly to the Aries or is the Macbook somewhere in the chain?
I am assuming Roon is simply the window through which I am viewing my hard drive resident library without Roon modifying or altering the music files.
Is this the case or is the music data routed through the Macbook back to the Aries?
Is this the correct setup?
Thanks,
Wdw

Hi Warren,

The audio path always goes through the Roon Core, which in this case is your MacBook. Your current audio path includes two real time bidirectional wireless connections.

I experimented with a USB drive off the Aries. Lightning DS loved it, but I couldn’t use Roon with it. The Aries was wireless (801.n at the time) but my Roon Core was Ethernet, I found that the single bidirectional wireless connection was unlistenable on my system. Stuttering and drop outs all the time.

Roon is happiest with storage on the Core. In my case I put the SSD in a BRIX running RoonServer and have had zero problems with that. You might try attaching your USB drive to the MacBook.