Hardware recommendations $350 - $500 per component

I’m new to Roon and the Audiophile hardware culture. I’ve recently setup a NUC8I3BEH with ROCK per the Roon Optimised Core Kit. I love it. That’s why I’m here.

I want to continue to build around the Roon Core on the NUC. I have 3 living spaces I want to setup: Living Room, Office and Master Bedroom, I’d like to add more spaces later.

One thing I liked about the NUC is the price tag. Buying components and parts that in total hover around $500 is great for me. I am happy to take my time building the system in stages. I’m learning as I go.

My current “architecture”(?) follows:

Living Room
Roon Core -> ROCK NUC8I3BEH -> HDMI -> Onkyo TX-SR313 + Onkyo 4800 5.1 Speaker System

Office
Roon Remote on iMac 27 -> Sound Blaster Omni Surround 5.1 USB Sound Card -> Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound Speakers System

Master Bedroom
Chromecast to Logitech Z623 2.1 Speakers.

Storage
Synology DS218j

I am not unhappy with the sound I have. It’s more a matter of not knowing what I’m missing. After trialing Roon on my iMac 27 I really began to enjoy my music collection in an emotional way. I didn’t know what I was missing.

Obviously I want to keep the ROCK NUC8I3BEH in the Living Room and the iMac 27 in the office. After that, jokers are wild.

A few items that have my interest:

?
HQPlayer ( Just stumbled on to HQPlayer today. Still trying to sort it out. )

DAC?
Pro-ject Pre Box S2 Digital
Dragonfly Cobalt Blue

RECEIVER / AMP?
NAD 3020 D
NAD 3045 D (exceed budget but do-able).

ROON ENDPOINTS?
Raspberry-pi
RoPieee

SPEAKERS?
Looking for recommendations within my budget, including DIY or cannibalising my existing Onkyo SKF-4800.

I have ethernet in the living room and office and decent wifi throughout the rest of the house. I no longer need surround sound. Open to all suggestions.