Help me build a digital system

I primarily play vinyl today.

Looking to spend 2-3k to introduce a digital path.

I have a spare computer I can use to serve roon.

I have a Tidal subscription so would like MQA support.

My pre amp has balanced and unbalanced inputs - ideally would take advantage of the balanced.

Where do I start!?

Welcome to the community.

Perhaps you can give some more details about the spare computer and your network setup plus your audio setup…there are so many things to consider and all the more info helps

Have you read up in the KB pages http://kb.roonlabs.com/Getting_Started

Spare computer is an i5 with Win10 and 8 GB ram. Willing to upgrade it a bit if needed. I have a stable 802.11n and wired endpoints available.

Audio system is:

• Vinyl Nirvana Thorens td-160 super turntable
  • Sim Audio Moon Lp5.3 phono stage
  • Sonos amp:connect (potentially going to retire)
  • minidsp ddrc-22a Dirac live dsp
  • Parasound Halo P5 preamp
  • Emotiva XPA-200 amp
  • Monitor Audio Gold 300 loudspeakers
  • Monitor Audio Gold w-15 subwoofer

I

As a starting point for discussion, a Mytek Brooklyn DAC and a Sonore ultraRendu should meet your hardware needs at just a shade under $3K.

Ok the Parasound has an inbuilt DAC via usb that you can use with no additional expenditure, and the pc is adequate no doubt if it has an ssd to boot from and install roon…

Where would you store music? Assuming you have some digital content other than tidal.

MQA would require a capable DAC but you could get started without that now

Seems like there are a lot of extras on the Brooklyn (preamp,phono,etc). Is it well respected for pure DAC and MQA support for the price range?

Yes, I’d say so. I have an older Mytek DAC (Stereo192 DSD, also feature laden) that has served me well. Somewhat unfortunately, AFAIK, at this point there isn’t a huge selection of MQA-capable DACs in what I’d characterize as the mid-priced range (say, US$1,500–US$2,500).