Help me out with local DSD streaming

Hi,

I am new to digital hifi. I just bought a NAD M33, and I want to use it for two purposes: 1–stream TIDAL (easy to do), and 2–play highres DSD music files I have stored on my Mac (on the same network).

My question: what software do I use on my Mac to allow it to share/serve DSD music so that my NAD M33 can see it (they’re both on the same network)? BlueOS can do it, BUT, BlueOS cannot stream DSD. Instead, it converts it to FLAC and down-res’s it. I do NOT want that.

Can Roon do this? Does Roon have a Mac app that can share/serve locally stored DSD music so that my NAD M33 on the same network can see and stream it? Does it maintain full DSD256 quality for DSD256 files? Why would BlueOS not support this?

Any guidance is greatly appreciated. Thank you,

Mark

I’m sure others will join in, but until then there’s this -

From what I read, it seems the DAC in your device is only capable of 384/32.

I think this is true for direct connections from your Mac to your NAD.

Don’t know what would be for a networked endpoint.

I have used the M33 as the output from Roon. Roon, of course, can directly read DSD at all levels in stereo and multichannel. It will convert them to PCM on-the-fly for the M33 to play them. However, the conversion is limited to the M33’s maximum resolution of 32/192. This saves you the bother/space of having BlueOS convert the files and save them separately.

In addition, since the M33/BlueOS are stereo only, Roon will also downmix multichannel files, PCM and DSD, to stereo. This is advantageous because BlueOS will read multichannel files (PCM only) but it will only play the FR/FL channels, losing all the musical information in the other channels.

Hmm, I find this web site confusing as it seems to specify 384/32. -