How can I erase Roon off of a drive in my nuc?

Hello,

I am brand new to Roon, but have done a ton of research and am excited to get going. I have built a Rock out of an Intel nuc model number NUCi310FNH. I put in 16 g of ram, 128 g M.2 drive that is running the Roon core software and a Samsung 2tb SSD for storage. Everything seems great except I made a mistake loading the software in and need help fixing the problem.
I accidentally loaded the core onto the SSD initially instead of the M.2 drive. I have since, removed the 2tb drive and reinstalled core on the correct M.2 drive and I downloaded the codec and the app and everything seems to be great. I have a bunch of music on an external 1tb usb drive and will connect that next, but I need to remove the Roon core OS from the 2tb SSD so I can now use it for storage. How can I do this?
Once I have that SSD drive installed in the nuc, nothing works. I’m guessing that’s because there are 2 versions on core running, or trying to run, on 2 separate drives. Can I simply erase Roon core from the SSD? Or reformat it to essentially a new blank drive? Thanks for any advice.

I think I tried that, but when both drives are installed I can’t seem to sign on via the web. Again, I’m very new to this so I very well could be doing something wrong. Can you give me a bit more detail on how to do this? Thanks again

If you are saying you can’t boot with the other drive installed?

You might try and verify the boot order in the BIOS to make sure the correct drive (M.2) is the one set to boot. I think you can also try this when booting by hitting an F10 key during boot and choosing the correct drive to boot to.

Also, you could install the 2 TB drive in another PC and reformat it, then put it back into the NUC.

1 Like

Yeah, sorry, i missed the won’t work when fitted bit - reformat in another pc, or change the bios boot order as Daniel suggests.

1 Like