How do I setup Roon?

Hi everyone,

I’ve been wanting to try Roon for quite a while now. I love the concept and feel it’s a fantastic way to bring back context and feel to digital audio.

So, all I have to do is setup the whole thing; which is where things go south since I’m a total newbie when it comes to networks…

Could you please help me figure out what would be the best setup?
I just need to be able to control Roon with my iPad and I only have one room in which I’d like to play music.
I’ll be using the on-board dac of my cd-player (musical fidelity M6SCD), most likely through the A-sync USB input.

I was planning on buying a NUC and installing ROCK on it. I’ll have a separate USB drive with my music connected to the NUC. Then, from there, if I connect the NUC to my router (hopefully by Ethernet) on one hand and to my dac by USB to the other hand, would this be ok? Would I be able to control the NUC with my iPad? Do I need anything else?

Furthemore, my router is quite far away from the DAC. Would a power-line adapter be a suitable solution to go from router to NUC? Does this deliver the same performance as an Ethernet connection?

Sorry for all these questions and thanks in advance for your help,

Cheers,

Laurent

@Laurent_Schmidt

You will need to connect the USB of the DAC (M6SCD) to an ethernet (ideally) or wifi endpoint. I use a Raspberry Pi with Ropieee or DietPi but those options might be beyond your techieness perhaps.

If you can get the USB connected to the ROCK NUC directly thats one option or you could use something like the Sonore microrendu - sorry I have no experience with this but others will chime in.

If wifi is your only option in your listening equipment area there could be other options. While Ethernet over Powerline is not ideal its also an option if you are able to set it up.

Just so I understand.