How to configure Roon (non-ROCK) between a NVMe and a SSD (Windows 10)

I’ve been Rooning for three months or so, first loading the roon core on a Gigabyte ITX machine with two 7200 rpm hard drives. Not the best performance, so I replaced the two 7200 rpm hard drives with a 1TB NVMe M.2 and a WD Blue 1TB SSD. I loaded ROCK as an experiment tinkering and I had some issues with ethernet connectivity. So I ditched the non-standard ROCK installation and loaded Windows 10 Roon. The beast worked like a charm, but I have one question. Rock on a NUC uses the M.2 for the OS, and the SSD for data (?) is there any way to set up the same configuration on my Windows 10 computer, otherwise when I install the OS and data both go on the M.2 drive, and the SSD is not used at all. Would something like spanned or RAID disks increase the speed or stability. BTW - having a great time playing with Raspberry pi and Roon.

Is this computer dedicated to Roon, or you want to use it for other applications also? It will be the Roon Core only or Rone Core and Roon Application?
Since M.2 drive is faster than SSD, I believe that Windows and Roon Core shoul be installed on M.2 drive, and music files on SSD (assuming that 1TB in enough for your music files). Or music files and Roon database backup (two partitions on SSD).
About the drive size: it is not mandatory to install Windows (and Roon Core) on a full M.2 drive. You can use a smaller partition for this (e.g. 100 GB), and the rest of space for other purposes.
I don’t think that spanned or RAID disks will increase the speed or stability, but it will make harder the computer management and desaster recovery.

1 Like